Skip to content

I am still alive

June 13, 2010

Ok, so as you may have noticed, I have procrastination issues.

I feel bad that I haven’t posted anything in a good while.. Part of the reason has been that it is simply depressing to write about various shades of ignorance all the time. It’s obviously important to address common misconceptions, lies and nonsense, but it can be a seriously draining exercise that turns you into a cynic and a pessimist if you’re not careful. I’m sarcastic a lot of the time, but it really does hurt me to see people treat and speak about others in such dehumanizing ways. Like did you catch what Senator Chuck Schumer said this week? What really is there to say to something like that, besides “Wow, that’s f*cked”?

It’s a constant challenge to respond to things like this in a constructive way. It’s also hard not to let one’s own approach become dictated by them; after all, the things that make us immediately want to speak out are usually the most offensive and ridiculous. I try to keep in mind, though, that a positive counterexample to something is usually more effective than a negative rebuttal.

… But I suppose there’s a lot of demolition that has to take place before a new foundation can be laid.. So creative destruction would be a happy medium 🙂

Anyway, I’m gonna keep on keepin’ on. If anyone was wondering, no I haven’t scrapped the blog and I will be back soon with new posts.

Peace.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

